Salted Caramel Filled Chocolate Cupcakes

2015-07-08 15.49.37Occasion:

Hubs and I like to host a summer cookout every July for our friends. Every year I make a special cake (see the previous post for this year’s offering). Last year we nearly ran out of cake, so I decided to make a few cupcakes this year, just in case.

Cake:

My go-to chocolate cake from Allrecipes.com: http://allrecipes.com/recipe/dark-chocolate-cake-i/

Chocolate Ganache Frosting:

Any recipe will do. It’s hard to ruin anything made entirely of chocolate and cream! Mine had about 3 ounces of semi-sweet chocolate chips, 3 ounces of bittersweet chocolate chips, 2/3 c. of heavy cream, and a dash of vanilla.  Just heat the cream until it just barely starts to boil, remove from heat, and stir in the chocolate and vanilla until it is completely melted and smooth.

Salted Caramel Filling:

Because I decided to make these on a whim, I realized partway into baking that I didn’t have enough heavy cream to make both the ganache and a caramel filling. Whoops! Thankfully, I found this recipe which calls for evaporated milk instead of cream: http://www.carlsbadcravings.com/easy-creamy-caramel-sauce/. My only changes were to substitute 1 c. of the brown sugar for white sugar (to make sure it didn’t taste too butterscotch-y) and add another 1/4 teaspoon of coarse Himalayan pink salt. The flavor was delicious, but the sauce was a little thinner than I would have liked for a cupcake filling. If I make these again, I’ll make sure to have enough cream!

Perfect little cupcakes for a backyard barbecue.
Perfect little cupcakes for a backyard barbecue.

Assembly:

  1. Use a cupcake corer (or a regular ol’ knife) to cut the center of of each cupcake.
  2. Spoon in a generous amount of caramel, and then replace the cupcake core. You might have to cut it a bit so it fits back in the hole.
  3. Dip the cakes into the ganache or carefully spoon it over the top.
  4. Press a hard caramel and sprinkle with sea salt for a finishing touch.

2015-07-08 14.46.21

Bonus Tip:

  • Though I would have preferred a thicker caramel filling, the bonus of the thin caramel was that it soaked into the cake to make the entire thing really moist and caramelly (is this even a word?). I’m also really looking forward to having the leftovers of this sauce over ice cream!
Leave a Reply

