Raspberry Lemon Easter Cake

 

image

Occasion: While some families pull out all the stops for Easter dinner with a big ham, cheesy scalloped potatoes, green bean casseroles, and all other manners of savory delights, my family has never really gotten into this kind of Easter tradition. Instead, we eat sweets like they are going out of style. Cinnamon rolls, doughnuts, pies, platters of fresh fruit, chocolate, bowls of candy… you name it! If it is sweet, we’ll put it on the table.

This year was no different, and I decided to make a Springy, lemony cake for Easter breakfast. (Perhaps the spring part was wishful thinking, because I had to drive though the tail end of a blizzard on my way to my parents’ house for Easter.) I based this cake mostly on a recipe I found on the Fine Cooking website. However, I added a raspberry lemon curd filling for a little extra flair.

Cake: I used this recipe from Fine Cooking exactly as written, and it turned out perfectly. It is very light and has just the right amount of lemon flavor.

http://www.finecooking.com/recipes/triple-lemon-layer-cake.aspx

Frosting: I also used the same Fine Cooking recipe for the frosting, but I made a couple minor modifications. First, I made a batch and a half, because a single recipe didn’t seem like nearly enough. The batch and a half was just the right amount for a four layer cake. I also increased the powdered sugar by about 3/4 cup, because I wanted it a little thicker. Lastly, I reserved a small amount for the accent icing, which I thickened up even more, so that it was easy to pipe. A dab of yellow gel coloring made the soft yellow color.

Fillings:

I filled the first and third layers with the lemon curd recipe in the original Fine Cooking recipe. However, because I wanted a little extra pop of color and flavor, I also made a raspberry lemon curd for the middle layer.

Raspberry Lemon Curd:

  • 1/2 cup  butter
  • 6 oz. frozen (and thawed) raspberries
  • 6 large, lightly beaten egg yolks
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • a pinch of salt
  • 1/4 cup lemon juice

1. Melt the  butter in a medium saucepan.

2. Once the butter is melted, remove from heat and add all other ingredients.

3. Return to medium heat and cook until berries become soft and curd thickens, stirring constantly. It should take about 10 minutes. When it is thick enough, a wooden spoon should leave a trail through the curd.

4. Remove from heat and immediately strain the curd through a fine mesh sieve to remove the seeds. Chill.

Assembly:

I sliced each cake in half, to create four layers. I used lemon curd above the first and third layers and lemon raspberry curd above the second layer. I then frosted the whole cake with a generous amount of the lemon frosting, and decorated it with lemon candy sugar, thick lemon icing, raspberries, and a drizzle of lemon raspberry curd.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Raspberry Lemon Easter Cake

Leave a Reply

